Lady Etal

In the ancient towns of Ford and Etal,
A fable whispered throughout the people,
Of lovers on 2 sides of war,
But brought together by love they bore,
Her father, sir and Etal’s Lord,
Sent his daughter to castle ford,
And said the man she wished to wed,
Was enemy and he’d take his head,
But to her father, she begged and plead’
Till he finally then agreed,
Bring him here at the hour of four,
And bring him to the castle door,
But when they met and kissed her cheek,
The gates closed and arrows unsheathed,
Where they stood in lovers arms,
And murdered by her fathers armed.
Whose ghost are seen in their embrace,
Trapped between the murder gates.

This is my E poem for the A to Z challenge.
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

My A-Z is based on Northumberland, and the myths and monsters that lurk within.

During a school trip to Ford and Etal, many many moons ago. I was told this story when visiting one of Northumberland’s many castles. The trouble is I don’t remember which castle it was. But basically we were told of a woman who fell for her father’s enemy, due to the shame she caused the family she, and lover were murdered trapped between the portcullises. Now whether it is true, I’m unsure but it makes a cracking story!

My poems kind of lead onto one another so I do suggest you read the poem before it to get the gist.

13 thoughts on “Lady Etal

    • Thanks, my theme is challenging but enjoyable. Yea I have not doubt there is some truth. We have many castles in Northumberland and they are rich in tragic stories. Makles them very interesting places to visit though.

    • Thankyou for visiting my blog. I do view each blog that visits mine, might take a bit of time as I am juggling writing blogging and hospital visits. But i promise to come visit your blog very soon.

      • No probs Amy and thanks.
        I’m the same trying to get around so many blogs. But there’s plenty of time.
        Mine’s a series of fictional stories about a little girl and I’m trying to keep them short and simple, hope you enjoy when you do come by 🙂

Leave a comment