The Secret Garden

I remember, growing up reading The Secret Garden by Francis Hodgson Burnett. This classic novel left such an impression on me, the book was beautifully illustrated and lets admit, who wouldn’t have loved to find their very own Secret garden?

In 2009 during my college fashion design course we were set the brief of ‘A Midnight Picnic’, to design an outfit suitable for such an event. Of course the obvious came to mind… the bold brash colours and eccentricity of Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland. But It just didn’t feel right, I didn’t feel passionate about it. Then a surge of excitement took over me… The Secret Garden, that was to be my theme.

  I was excited and enthusiastic, out came the old book and it was the perfect excuse to get re-aquainted with the movie. It was one of the best Sundays I’ve ever had!

I’ve got  a strange fascination for old keys, they’re something so rustically beautiful about them, you may be able to see, I have used these as an
embellishment, how could I not? this is the secret garden after all!

I should point out that I love historical costume, anything from the 1910’s and earlier amazes me, the intricate seamwork and decoration turn me into a fashion geek, so you can understand my excitement as I began researching the costumes of this time. It was all about the puff-ball shoulders and empire lines for me!

The colour was obvious to me, midnight blue!! and the satin worked with the gold embroidery making me one happy designer!

When it was finished, we set off into the woods and I roped in my photographer friend and pretty model and we took these photo’s that I wanted to share with you today.

I was overjoyed with the results, it’s not perfect, but it’s mine!

Hope you like! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Secret Garden

  1. That is a fantastically beautiful outfit and a good colour on you. I think you captured the mysterious element of A Secret Garden and the darker/possibly threatening aspect of Alice in Wonderland with the night shots.

Leave a Reply

